You like “*****”?!! “*****” sucks.

Posted: November 20, 2009 in Cerebral Electricity Manifest into Digital Electricity
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Insert the word most applicable for your life.

We’ve said it.  We’ve heard it.  I’m glad I’m impervious to it now but I think about how much it used to affect me.  And kids say it with such expectation.  But we all know kids are ignorant (it’s not their fault. They were born that way) but where do adults get off putting down something beyond their personal tastes?  By 20 you should have it figured out that people don’t always like what you like and YOU are not supposed to like what everyone else likes.

So how does some else’s opinion change the way you feel about something.  I am happy to say I now listen to Roxette as much as I feel like and I don’t give a fuck what anyone thinks.  I think they’re great.  But it wasn’t always this way….  At one point I was told they suck and away they went.  Thats when I got into more aggressive music, lets see someone try telling me this sucks!  That’s the good thing about aggressive stuff.  It’s already saying fuck anyone else who doesn’t like it.  It’s kind of a bully like that.

So lets take a look at me now.  What am I into?  I can tell you what I’m not into,  Beyonce, Lady Gaga, all that pop crap.  Why?  The lyrics are totally vacant.  No thought seems to be put into them at all.  Mark Twain once said:  “The difference between the right word and almost the right word is the difference between lightning and a lightning bug.”  And he is spinning in his grave.  So what does this have to do with musical bullying?  Here’s what:  I’m the bully now.  Instead of heaviness I’m an intellectual bully.  It doesn’t matter how meticulously I can pick it apart, if you like it, good.  It’s music.  It’s there to like.

But lets flex our brains for a second, I’m keeping you on your toes.  This philosophy for freedom of taste is not universal.  Lets go back to something else I heard, and all YOU heard or said, as a kid.  Math sucks.  If only I knew how much harder math was for other people and I didn’t think I was supposed to like all the same things everybody else likes.  As it turns out math, science, all that tough stuff, doesn’t suck.  I’m pretty good at math myself but think of how good I’d be if I had realized how much potential it has.  Cool stuff like building robots, real-life other dimensions and important stuff like renewable energy.  We all thought it sucked because we didn’t realize it’s connection to the world we know.  It’s a big leap from the fundamentals to a microwave (I still don’t get how microwaves work).

But the best thing about science is, by it’s nature, there is no accounts for taste.  That’s the point of it.  If you’re gonna fudge the numbers to prove yourself right you’re a lousy scientist.  Not a scientist at all, actually.  You’re a ********* (add your own witty jab here).

Tune in next time for my article about 82% of the US population (and similar numbers for the rest of the world) being in the Service Industry where I begin my campaign to change it’s name to the Handjob Industry for all it’s accomplishments.

Comments
  1. David Green says:

    Roxette!? That’s Awesome man! I don’t type little abbreviations but that one made me laugh out loud. I still have Roxette tape somewhere.

Leave a Reply

